FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING

MINUTES

NOVEMBER 12, 2010

CPR 245

<u>PRESENT</u>: Roberta Baer, Catherine Beneteau, James Cavendish, John Cochran, Eric Eisenberg, Richard Manning, Kelly Page Werder, David Payne, Robert Potter, Sandy Schneider, Hari Srikanth, Mark Stewart, Wei Zhang, Mary Sweely

ABSENT: Cheryl Kirstein, Christine Probes

- 1. Meeting called to order.
- 2. Minutes from Oct. 8th 2010 meeting were approved.
- 3. Dean's remarks: Dr. Eisenberg stated that he appreciates the new energy and vision of the Faculty Council. Also, remarked on the Vision for the College. Dr. Manning asked about the cutting of departments & programs and layoffs of tenured faculty. Dr. Eisenberg stated that budget cuts will be shared equally and that he has heard of no elimination of programs. We will not know the outcome till after the new Governor takes over.
- 4. Report from Governance Document Reconciliation Sub-Committee: The sub-committee of Drs. David Payne, Sandy Schneider and Hari Srikanth reconciled the 3 Schools Governance Document with that of the CAS Governance Document (report attached). This was shared with the council and discussed. They noted that SNSM is far more developed that the other 2 schools.
 - Dr. Cavendish stated that the other 2 schools seemed slow in development that SNSM. Dr. Stewart emphasized that SNSM started this process about

Three years ago with the Provost consent.

After a lengthy discussion a motion was made to have the Council send their recommendations to the Chair's of the Schools for consideration. This motion was thrown out and another motion was made and approved for the Dean to bring these to the attention of the Chair's. Dr. Cochran will make the changes to the Schools documents and send to the Chair's for their vote.

Dr. Manning commended the Sub-committee on doing an excellent job.

- 5. Tenure & Promotion Issues: Dr. Cochran supplied information regarding the clarification of the confidentiality of external reviewers-he stated that most at Universities these are confidential and are not available for the tenure earning faculty's review.
- 6. Staff and Student Standing Committee election results: These representatives were received from the departments via e-mail, the Faculty Council voted on these via e-mail. They were voted on and approved by the Faculty Council. They are as follows:

Faculty Council-Michelle Bombaugh (staff)

Faculty Development-Clara Cobb (staff)

Diversity-Sharon Johnson-Hamilton (staff)

Computer-Pat Greene (staff)

Deedra Hickman (staff)

Tyson Dilorenzo (Grad rep)

Michael Kanning (Grad rep)

Library - Cristin Cotton (Undergrad rep)

Melissa Coakley (Grad rep)

Grievance Committee-Belgica Cucalon (Under grad rep)

Brittany Feagin (Undergrad rep)

Jaime Jelaso (Undergrad rep)

7. Fall Assembly-Dr. Manning informed the council that Dr. Dosal and Dr. Karen Holbrook will be guest speakers at the assembly.

8. Old Business-none

- 9. New Business-Web page needs to be updated.
- 10. Meeting Adjourned.