USF Board of Trustees Governance Committee

Tuesday, May 25, 2021 Microsoft Teams Meeting

Chair Will Weatherford called the Governance Committee meeting to order.

Vice President Cynthia Visot called the roll with the following Trustees in attendance.

Trustee Sandy Callahan Trustee Les Muma Trustee John Ramil Trustee Will Weatherford Trustee Jordan Zimmerman

New Business – Action Items

FL 101 Approval of the February 23, 2021 Minutes

Having no changes to the minutes, Governance Committee Chair Will Weatherford asked for a motion to approve FL 101. Trustee Jordan Zimmerman moved for approval with a second from Trustee Sandy Callahan and the February 23, 2021, minutes were approved.

FL 102 – Direct Support Organization

Approve USF Alumni Association Board of Directors, Fiscal Year 2022

Alumni Association Executive Director Bill McCausland presented FL 102 – The approval of 9 USF Alumni Association Boards of Directors and 4 returning members for FY 2022.

New Board of Directors for FY 2022

- 1. Kerine Black Director- Class of 2000 and 2001
- 2. Maya Brown Director- Class of 2015
- 3. Braulio Colon Chair Elect- Class of 2003 and 2010
- 4. Sally Dee Director Class of 1994 and 2011
- 5. Matt Diaz Director Class of 2013
- 6. Mario McPherson- Director
- 7. Carla Saavedra Director- Class of 1987
- 8. Todd St. John -Fulton Director Class of 2019
- 9. Julian Wilson Director

Renewed Board of Directors

- 1. Troy Dunmire Director Class of 2000
- 2. Bill Mariotti Treasurer Class of 2015
- 3. Christine Turner Secretary Class of 1997

Executive Director Bill McCausland commented that he continues to be extremely proud of the diversity within the USF Alumni Board of Directors.

Chair Will Weatherford commended Executive Director McCausland on the work he does for this great institution and for the diverse list of names for the Alumni Board of Directors.

Chair Weatherford asked for a motion to approve which was given by Trustee John Ramil with a second from Trustee Les Muma and FL 102 was approved.

FL 103 Approval of Appointment of St. Petersburg Campus Advisory Board Member.

The Board shall appoint members to the Campus Advisory Boards, from recommendations of the President. Consistent with the State Constitution, members shall hold no other state office. Members may be reappointed for additional terms not to exceed eight years of service.

President Steve Currall presented FL 103.

St. Petersburg Campus Advisory Board Appointment

Mr. Rueben Pressman is the Founder and CEO of Presence, a software platform which he founded to help higher educational institutions collect and understand data and take action to increase co-curricular student engagement, success, and workforce readiness. Mr. Pressman has grown Presence to 250 universities with over 1.5 million students, small and large, including University of Minnesota, Washington State, Texas A&M, LSU, etc. He is a 2011 graduate of USF St. Petersburg, and is eligible for a four-year appointment ending June 30, 2025.

Chair of the USF St. Petersburg Campus Advisory Board, Melissa Seixas commented on her conversation with Mr. Reuben Pressman and can see him as a new member that will add to the diversity of experience and as one of the next generation of leaders representing the University of South Florida.

Chair Will Weatherford thanked Trustee Melissa Seixas for her leadership serving as Chair of the St. Petersburg Campus Advisory Board.

Chair Will Weatherford asked for a motion to approve which was given by Trustee Melissa Seixas with second from Trustee John Ramil and FL 103 was approved.

Having no further business Chair Will Weatherford adjourned the meeting.